About ALSA

About ALSA

The Asian Law Schools Association (ALSA) was established in September 2020 for the purpose of upholding and advancing excellence in legal education and scholarship in Asia through meaningful collaboration among Asian law schools. In furtherance of the Association’s purpose, ALSA promotes the core values of academic freedom, the rule of law, diversity, integrity, and professionalism.

ALSA has twenty-eight founding member schools that are among the very top law schools in Asia. Their representatives sit on the Board of Governors which meets annually. The School of Law of City University of Hong Kong (CityU) led the initiative, and the Secretariat is currently hosted at the NUS Law School.

Potential activities include biennial deans’ forums to discuss issues and challenges faced by Asian law schools; research workshops for junior scholars; seminars and conferences on legal education; and comparative law research projects.

For the current list of ALSA members, please click:


Board of Governors


  • Prof. TAN Cheng Han (National University of Singapore)

Acting Secretary-General

  • Assistant Prof. TAN Zhong Xing (National University of Singapore)

Members (in alphabetical order of member institutions)

  • Prof. LIN Feng (City University of Hong Kong)
  • Prof Sudhir KRISHNASWAMY (National Law School of India University, Bangalore)
  • Prof. PENG Chengxin (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)
  • Prof. LEE Pey Woan (Singapore Management University)
  • Prof ZHOU Guangquan (Tsinghua University)
  • Prof. FU Hualing (University of Hong Kong)
  • Prof. Andrew LYNCH (University of New South Wales)
  • Prof. CHEN Chih-Hsiung Thomas (Yang Ming Chiao Tung University)
  • Prof. Ki Beom LEE (Yonsei University)

Get Involved

ALSA is borne of the desire to bring Asian law schools closer together. The mission of ALSA is to uphold and enhance excellence in legal education and scholarship. Join us. We welcome collaboration with other organizations and law schools particularly from Asia.